Zonal Coordinating Unit (ZCU) established on 11th September, 1979 under Cess Fund in JNKVV Campus Jabalpur to monitor the activities Lab to Land Programme in States of Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Goa. Further Maharashtra and Goa were attached to Zone V and Zone VIII. The Zone VII comprised of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha. The Council assigned the responsibility to this ZCU for monitoring ICAR supported TOT Projects namely Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVK), Trainers Training Centre (TTC), National Demonstration Project (ND), Operational Research Project (ORP), Lab to Land Programme (LLP), Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Project and Special Project on Oilseeds.

All the first line extension projects viz., NDP, ORP and LLP were merged and brought under one Umbrella of KVK. During 1990-91 Frontline Demonstrations under Oilseed Production Programme and National Pulse Project were initiated. The Unit was also monitoring Front Line Demonstrations on Farm Implements and Cotton. In 1995, a pilot project on Institute Village Linkage Programme was undertaken and implemented in this zone.

Zonal Coordinating Unit was upgraded by ICAR to Zonal Project Directorate (ZPD), Zone-VII in March 2009. Further, the Directorate attained Institutional status and renamed as Agricultural Technology Application Research Institute (ATARI) in 2015. The Institute coordinates, monitors and evaluates the mandated activities of 104 KVKs spread across three Indian states - Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha.

Recent Programme updates

Vidhan Sabha Programe in Bhopal International Women Day, Bhopal Gramoday Mela Inaugurated Interface on Agriculture For Nutrition Agri Industry Meeting, Neemuch

108 Districts across the three state in the ATARI

104 KVKs Established till date

Madhya Pradesh District = 51

Established No. of KVKs = 47

Chattisgarh  District = 27

Established No. of KVKs = 24

Odisha District= 30

Established No. of KVKs =33